Journal Committee

The members of the journal committee set the overall direction of the journal and make final decisions on which articles to include. They also take charge of the layout and proofing of the journal, run the website, promote the journal, and maintain our financial partnerships.

Current Committee Members

IsobelleDr Isobelle Barrett Meyering is a historian of Australian feminism, the family and childhood. She completed her PhD on children and the Australian women’s liberation movement (1969-1979) at UNSW Sydney in March 2017. She has taught in history and gender studies at UNSW and previously worked as a research assistant at the Australian Domestic and Family Violence Clearinghouse from 2009 to 2013.


SarahSarah Gregory recently completed her Masters in Information Studies through the University of Canberra specialising in Library Science. Previous to her Masters degree, Sarah completed her Bachelor of Arts (Hons) in modern history at Macquarie University in 2012. Sarah’s thesis focused on Jewish prisoner functionaries during the Holocaust, which saw her co-win the 2012 NSW PHA undergraduate essay prize for one of her chapters. Sarah’s historical interests range from ancient to modern history, particularly regarding religion, politics and war.



Caitlin Harvey is completing her Bachelor of Arts (Honours) in History from the University of Sydney in 2017. In 2016 she completed a Bachelor of Arts (Media and Communications), also from the University of Sydney. Caitlin’s thesis focuses on how early modern European women exercised autonomy and temporary power during the ritual of childbirth. Her interests lie in gender and post-colonial histories, as well as the importance of material culture in history.


cameron-e1508222435439.jpgCameron McPhedran completed a Bachelor of Arts and a Master of Criminal Justice and Criminology at UNSW. He studied History at both UNSW and UC Berkeley. In 2017, Cam wrote his Master’s thesis on mediation between LGBTIQA+ youth and their parents regarding conflicts relating to gender identity and/or sexual orientation. This thesis has been incorporated into media and blog commentary in the context of the marriage equality postal survey. Cam is most interested in Argentine, Peruvian and Indian histories.


Kathryn Ticehurst completed her undergraduate degree with joint honours in History and History of Philosophy of Science at the University of Sydney in 2007. Her thesis explored early colonial Australian botany and was awarded the Charles Trimby Burfitt Prize. After working as a tutor and research assistant at the University of Sydney and co-convening the Australian Student Environment Network in 2008, she completed a Masters at Cambridge University in History and Philosophy of Science in 2010. Kathryn is now a postgraduate student at the University of Sydney.


History in the Making Committee Alumni

Dr Rhiannon Davis received her PhD from the University of Sydney in 2008. Since then, she has worked as a tutor, associate lecturer and research assistant in the history department there. Rhiannon has a strong interest in how students learn not only history, but how to be historians. Her research interests include business and advertising history, corporate culture, transnational and global history, and the history of technology and food. She has taught British and American history.


Kristie Flannery completed her Bachelor of Economic and Social Science (Hons) at the University of Sydney in 2007. She served as a student representative to the Department of History during her honours year. After graduating, Kristie worked as a higher education policy officer in the Australian public service, participated actively in her trade union and travelled extensively. In August 2011 Kristie began a graduate degree in Latin American history at the University of Texas at Austin. She is a recipient of the Hannah Fullerton Scholarship from the University of Sydney.


Karol Florek is an alumni of history at the University of Sydney, having completed his honours thesis in Mexican colonial labour history in 2008. Throughout his degree, he was awarded a number of awards and scholarships including the Venour V. Nathan and the Robert A. Dallen Literary Prizes. Karol had worked since 2009 as a research analyst for United Voice, one of Australia’s largest national trade unions. 



Rebecca Hawkings is a doctoral candidate in the Department of Modern History at Macquarie University. She completed a Bachelor of Social Science (Hons I) in 2011, and received the 2012 NSW National Council of Women’s Australia Day Award for academic achievement. She has published her work in academic journals and in the music press, and has a particular interest in the dissemination of scholarly research to a public audience. Her current research is concerned with Australian popular music and cultural nationalism since the 1970s.




Dr James Keating is a historian of suffrage, women and internationalism, and Australia and New Zealand in the world. He completed his PhD on Australasian women and the international suffrage movement (1885-1914) at UNSW Sydney in July 2017. He has taught history and European studies at UNSW and Notre Dame, serves on the editorial committee of the Journal of Australian Studies, and is the State Library of New South Wales’ 2018 David Scott Mitchell fellow.


AdenAden Knaap is a research assistant at the University of Sydney and an affiliate of the Laureate Research Program in International History. He graduated with first class honours in history from the University of Sydney in 2014 and is currently completing his law degree. His research and writing teases out the intersections of ideas, politics and society in the history of internationalism in the twentieth century, with a particular focus on international organisations and their popular offshoots. He was awarded a number of prizes and scholarships throughout his degree, including the Australasian Pioneers’ Club Scholarship for the best honours student of Australian history enrolling in postgraduate studies.


Andrew Kelly is a PhD candidate at the University of Western Sydney, researching Australian and American foreign relations during the 1950s. In 2012, he was awarded First Class Honours in the field of history at UWS. Since then, he has worked as a Casual Academic with the School of Humanities and Communication Arts and published in the Australasian Journal of American Studies and the Australian Journal of Politics and History.


Kate Matthew is a PhD student with the University of Western Sydney, researching politicians of the 1860s. She won the Louise T Daley Prize for Australian history for her Masters dissertation at the University of New England in 2010, which examined the fate of English governesses in nineteenth century Australia. She has published in Sydney Journal, the Journal of Australian Colonial History and the Dictionary of Sydney, and is a casual lecturer at the Australian Catholic University teaching Australian history and comparative politics.


stephStephanie Mawson is a PhD candidate at the University of Cambridge and a junior research fellow at the Institute of Historical Research, London. Her research examines the contested nature of empire in the early modern period, with a specific focus on the seventeenth century Philippines. Her work has been published in leading journals, including most recently Past & Present and Ethnohistory, and has attracted several notable awards from the Royal Historical Society and the American Society for Ethnohistory. Stephanie served as the founding president of History in the Making.